(… Get it?)

Alright, I’ll put the pun-machine away… This week I’m talking about the Edwardian Style French Pleat, or as it’s more commonly known, the Gibson Tuck, or low chignon. Lots of our entrants have given it a try already, but I wanted to show off this super-easy style as a great way to add some variety to your pleat-making.

This was popularised by the Gibson Girl illustrations by Charles Dana Gibson in the 1890’s, but the fashion for this gently sweeping style lingered on through decades afterwards.

Take a look at our tutorial video below, that shows Melissa making this style in easy steps…

I have had a go this week, and I think I’ve made some progress…

Photo on 29-10-2015 at 14.17 Photo on 29-10-2015 at 14.54

Now, I did make a few tweaks here and there. As I’m sure you’ve seen already, my hair is normally in big loose natural curls, but this week I have had to wear it straight (sadly I’m having to brush it a lot, due to a flare-up of psoriasis…) but it did mean that my hair was super slippery and much harder to work with than normal.

In my first few attempts (left hand picture) I found I really needed an elastic to hold the initial loop in place, and rather than using a traditional French Pleat Comb for this style, I used a Side Comb.

(As a note, I would *not* recommend this for everyone. French Pleat Combs are specially designed to take the additional weight and tension in your hair that comes with making a french pleat. I have seen a few pleats made with side combs, but I would only recommend this if your hair is very fine. Side combs are only designed to hold small sections of hair, and so those that are worn to hold pleats in place can warp and break after just a few months of use. I wouldn’t want you to have that experience – broken clips make me sad!)

After a few days of practice, I did come up with a method that worked well for me. Rather than using an elastic, instead I decided to use a flat bobby pin to grip the side sections in place while I made the rest of the style. I held it in place with a larger, arched barrette that could accommodate the double-thickness of hair that I was trying to secure, and then I pulled the bobby pin out.

Not too shabby, even if I do say so myself! I think this style definitely needs more practice than a traditional vertical pleat, probably because of gravity. If your comb or clip isn’t in the right place, it just unravels.

Here are some of our great entries using this style…

06 - R Anderson - 3313 - S Morgan - 719 - M Ayres - 4312 - C McNeill - 31

So, if you’ve not tried it yet, this is my challenge to you this week – Attempt the Gibson Tuck at least once. I can’t wait to see what you come up with…

Remember our Day 50 treat, too! Keep sending your daily images in, if you’re on track with 50 entries by 5pm on the 11th November, (that’s next Wednesday!) I’ll be sending you a French Pleat goodie pack in the post.

If you’ve got any questions, just let me know. Ring the Hair Clip Phone on 01732 883820, or send me an email at Claire@Stone-Bridge.co.uk.

Have a great week Pleaters!

